Day 7 – Modified “Perfect 10” Traithlon Training

Yes, in case you are following I’m still sick.  I have a crazy wicked cough, and some congestion.  So I’m still taking it easy, but I am really missing my exercise routine.

Typically today would be a swim day.  However, I’m not a huge fan of going to the pool on the weekends during the winter, because it is crazy busy.  So I always end up doing something else on the weekend, and doing my swim workouts during the week.  During the summer, it is a different story.  I can either get in a swim at the pool or at the beach.  But during the winter, it’s just too busy to get in a good workout.

So today’s workout would just be an easy run for 3 miles.  Nothing too hard, just a chance to get out there and work out the kinks.

What is an easy run?  I’m a huge fan of a GPS watch.  In fact, right now I have a Garmin 310XT, but I’m expecting to get my Garmin 910 shortly.  I ordered it in September of last year, but they had some issues and it’s getting shipped mid-week next week.  Anyway, an easy run  would be my marathon pace with 1:30 to 2:00 added onto that pace.

For example, if my marathon pace is 10:00 min miles, my easy run would be 11: 30 to 12:00 min miles.  There are many days in which I do an easy run, and I want to run it faster, but all you do is end up hurting your training.  So no matter how much you want to go out and push it on that easy day, you need to stay within your range.

Also, when I get my Garmin, I will use it on my bike, swim (pool) and run and will let you know what I think out it … But I’m really excited about the pool portion of the watch since that is an area in which I don’t get much feed back.  So keep on the lookout for my review … And keep an eye out on eBay for my old watch for sale.

~ by Greg Vick on January 29, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
