Day 9 – Modified Perfect 10 Triathlon Training

Today was my first day back after battling strep throat for the past week.  I was really looking forward to getting back into the swing of things.  Of course, I did not realize how much being sick takes out of you.  Between being sick, and being 11 weeks out from knee surgery, I was “ready” for a run.  My scheduled run was supposed to be a 7 mile run.  But I know that there would be no way that I would be able to do that run. So I figured that I needed to dial it back some … so I did.

Like I said, the original run was supposed to be 7 miles.  So if you want to do this for your schedule, then do 7 miles.

If you are just getting started, then you can do what I did which was walk 1/2 mile, then run for 4 minutes and walk for 2 minutes for 3 miles.  Then do a 1/2 mile walk as a cool down.

Know that I am just recovering from knee surgery, I need to take it easy … so I did.  This really sucks since prior to my knee surgery, I was in great shape.  I was running 20 miles at a 9 min mile pace for a long slow distance run.  My normal pace for most of my workouts was in the mid-7’s.  So this is hard to digest at the moment.  But I know that if I train smart, that I will be back in pre-surgery shape before I know it.

~ by Greg Vick on January 31, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
