Day 10 – Modified Perfect 10 Triathlon Training

Well, today is the end of Cycle 1 of the Modified Perfect 10 Triathlon Training.  As such, today is a rest day.

I know that you may be thinking, but you were sick.  Don’t you want to make up some of your missed training?  The answer is yes.  Of course I want to make up some of my missed training.  But I know that if I do all that I will end up doing is over training, and possibly getting re-injured or a new injury.  And that is something that 1 day of training is not worth.

One of the hardest goals of the older athlete, and those individuals that are competitive is that we have a tendency to think that if some if good, then more is better.  And we apply that to everything that we do … including exercise.  I know that’s the way that I am.

I have to learn, the hard way, that pushing yourself will only get you injured and set you back even further in your training.  And since I have a number of races planned, and I have my “A” race in October, I know that I can’t take the chance and miss out on the races.  So as hard as it is to not want to push myself, I know that it’s best if I take it slow, and keep my training as planned.

Remember … Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should!

~ by Greg Vick on February 1, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
