New Day – Updated Triathlon Training Program

Today was the start of a new program to prepare for the Half Iron Distance Rev 3 Venice (Florida) event the 28th of October.  This program has been modified to add in stretching (Pilates and yoga), and continue the strength training using the TRX suspension system.

Not only do I have the Half Iron Distance race, but I also have 1 10K, 5 half marathons, and 1 full marathon.  So that is a pretty full schedule, and I want to make sure that I am able to do all of these events.  I’m not saying that I will run the events non-stop, but they are only for training purposes, and not what I would consider my “A” race.  I only have one “A” race this year so that I could focus most of my training efforts on that event.

So with that being said, here is the first day of my new and updated triathlon training program:

The first part of the workout, prior to the run (and will always be done prior to the run) is a Pilates Video.  The video is only 8 minutes in length and it’s pretty easy to perform.  Here is the link to the video:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E-2nTyxdKA4

The second part of the workout is the actual run.  Today’s effort was 35 minute in length, and the goal was to maintain a conversational pace. I did have to slow down the pace just to make sure that I was able to complete the run, and also maintain the correct pace.  Overall the run felt good, and it’s nice to be able to run again.  I did walk 5 minutes prior to the start of the run (warm-up), and also walked 15 minutes after the run (cool down).

The third part was completing the TRX workout.  I used the Functional Strength Training (week 1&2), Strength Workout 1 which is as follows:

TRX Suspended Lunge – 1 set, 10 reps each side

TRX Single Leg Squat – 1 set, 10 reps each side

TRX Sprinter’s Start – 1 set, 10 (slow), 10 (fast) each side

TRX Hamstring Curls – 1 set, 10 reps

TRX Hip Press – 1 set, 10 reps

TRX Hamstring Bicycles – 1 set, 20 alternate reps

TRX High Bicep Curl – 1 set, 10 reps

TRX Tricep Press – 1 set, 10 reps

TRX High Rotation – 1 set, 10 reps each side

TRX Side Plank – 1 set 20 seconds each side

TRX Suspended Crunch – 1 set, 10 reps

~ by Greg Vick on February 2, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
