I need your help to support our Wounded Warriors

Next week I will be running the Rock n Roll Pasadena Half Marathon.  And I need to recruit your help for our Wounded Warriors.  Before I ask what I am asking of you, I want you to remember this.  I’m coming off a serious knee injury in which I had surgery in November.  And as those who have been following me know, I have not put in a lot of mileage on the road since that time frame … So keep that in mind as I lay out how I need your help.

For those of you who don’t know about the Wounded Warriors Project, I will explain it a little as well as provide a link in which you can get more information.  The purpose of the Wounded Warrior Project is:

  • To raise awareness and enlist the public’s aid for the needs of injured service members;
  • To help injured service members aid and assist each other;
  • To provide unique, direct programs and services to meet the needs of injured service member.

These are our men and women who have made sacrifices for our country, and this program is designed to help them in their time of need.  These individuals volunteered and made huge sacrifices for us, and now they need our help.  For more information you can go to the following web page: http://www.woundedwarriorproject.org/

For those of you who don’t know my background, I am retired military.  I proudly served in the U.S. Navy for 20 years, and it was and will always be a very special time for me.  In addition, I served as the Chief of Information Security for all of the U.S. Navy Hospitals around the world.  And it was an incredible experience.

One of my favorite places to go was National Naval Medical Center in Bethesda, MD (it is now named Walter Reed National Military Medical Center – US Navy).  I would always walk through the hospital and thank our Wounded Warriors for their service to our country.  It’s amazing to see what these individuals have gone through, and that they still believe in what they did.  These are young men and women who have lost limbs, have severe burns, head injuries, and the list goes on and on.  And now the families of these young men and women (husbands, wives, sons, daughters, mothers and fathers) are taking on the responsibility of taking care of a family member and a loved one.  At times it is heart breaking to see what these families have to endure.

These families need our help … So here is my plan.

I’m going to start dead last at the Rock n Roll Pasadena Half Marathon.  And I’m going to run what I think I can run, which will probably be 8 to 9 miles max.  After that, I will have to walk the rest of the race so that I don’t get injured.  What I would like for you to do is to pass this blog along to your friends (blog, Twitter, Facebook, etc.), and I would like individuals to think about donating money to the Wounded Warrior Project.  And I’m going to leave a lot of options here.  First, you can make a donation of whatever you would like to the organization.  I don’t care if it’s a dollar … Every penny helps.  Second, you can make a personal pledge to donate a certain amount based on how many people that I pass in the race.  Remember, I’m just coming back from knee surgery, so I’m not going to pass 10,000 people.  In fact, I have no idea how many people I will pass … or if when I walk they pass me back.  Don’t forget about that part.  So if you want to make a personal pledge of a penny a person, a nickel, dime, quarter, dollar, or whatever denomination, I will leave that up to you.  Lastly, you don’t need to make a pledge or donations at all … Just know that I will be out there running for our Wounded Warriors.

So please … Pass this along to all of your friends.  And I will keep you updated and let you know how many people I pass.  I thank you, and I know our Wounded Warriors will thank you.

~ by Greg Vick on February 12, 2012.

2 Responses to “I need your help to support our Wounded Warriors”

  1. You’re about to get started with the race. Good luck!!! Make it work, it is only important that you started it….

  2. […] My original blog with the details is: https://gregvick.wordpress.com/2012/02/12/i-need-your-help-to-support-our-wounded-warriors/ […]

Leave a Reply

 
