Day 12, 13 and 14 – Triathlon Training Program

These are the hard days to write since I now have to play catch-up on what I have been doing the past couple of days.  To say that it has been busy is the understatement.

I also want to thank all of those who have looked at my Wounded Warriors Project blog.  I have no idea how many people will be there, but I’m guessing that there will be 12 to 15 thousand.  I figure that I “may” be able to pass about 10 – 15% of the people before I can hit the 9 mile mark.  It’s going to be tough.  But the good news is that I will also be doing a HR test during the race, so I should be running a little faster than I have been running … not much, but a little since I need to run at least 6 miles with an elevated HR.  Then 3 miles in the Zone 2 HR … 2 miles for a warm-up, and 1 mile for a cool down.

By the way, I just need to add one more plug for the Garmin 910.  I love the pool functionality … this is the greatest thing since I no longer have to try to count laps.  I can just take a quick glance at my watch and know how many laps I have completed.  This is AWESOME!!

Anyway, here are my workouts based on the day.

Day 12 – Yoga and Bike

Workout #1: Yoga for 30 minutes to 1 hour

Workout #2: Bike for 1 hour on the indoor trainer performing drills.  Warm-up for 20:00 min.  Then do the back and forth drill for 6 x 3:00 minutes.  You need to concentrate on the back and forth motion of your pedaling, and not worry about your HR or your cadence during this drill.  At the 2:30 mark, climb out of your saddle and use your legs, core and back to stabilize you on the bike.  Once that is done, then do the 1 leg drill for 3 sets of 30 seconds.  Once that is completed just spin in the small gear until you hit the 1 hour mark.

Day 13 – Swim and Run

Workout #1 – Swim

Warm-up: 300 swim easy. 8 x 25 done as 25 drill and 25 swim.

Main Set: 5 x 250 steady (:20 recovery)

Cool-down: 300 easy swim.

Workout #2 – Run

Run/walk for 10:00 to warmup a bit before doing drills.  Then do the drills from the following video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vcH97Dx8VCk Do each drill 3 or 4 times.  After drills, run for 45:00 in Zone 2.  Then do a cool down for about 10 minutes.  Then do some light stretching.

Day 14 – Indoor Trainer (Bike)

Warm-up for about 10 to 15 minutes in the small gear, trying to maintain 90 rpms.  Then ride in HR Zone 2 for about 15 minutes.  Then you are ready to do some more 1 leg drills.  Do 3 x 30 sec (each leg) at 80 rpm, keep the chain snug and the motion smooth ( think of how it felt to do the back and forth drill).  After this ride the remaining time (until you reach 1:30) in Zone 2.  Then do about a 10 minute cool-down in the small gear.

Now that you are all caught up … Have fun!!

~ by Greg Vick on February 15, 2012.

One Response to “Day 12, 13 and 14 – Triathlon Training Program”

  1. […] Day 12, 13 and 14 – Triathlon Training Program (gregvick.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
