Triathlon Training – Day 35 and 36

Ok, so I’m playing catch-up again, but it’s not as bad as the last one.  I keep telling myself to write on my blog every day, but it always seems like something else comes up.  Needless to say, that’s no excuse … I know that, but at least I’m keeping up with my workouts.

Day 35 – Run/Yoga

Workout #1 – Run

15:00 minute warmup at a slow jog (try to keep in HR Zone 1).  Then do a skip drill.  No real distance, maybe 30-40 yards by sight sever times, then walk back to the beginning and start again.  Do this for about 15:00 minutes.  If you don’t know how to skip (like I do), then here is a pretty good video on how to skip: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jFcm4Z0kJyc  Then you need to run for 50:00 minutes keeping your heart rate in Zone 2.  Then finish with another 10:00 minutes of skipping.

Workout #2 – Yoga

Do at least 30 minutes of Yoga, but you can go up to 90 minutes.  I did 90 minutes of hot yoga.  But please make sure that you are well hydrated from your run.. If not, the class will be super hard.

Day 36 – swim

Warm-up: 400 easy

Main Set:

3 X 200 swim – 100 fast/100 easy (:15)

200 pull with paddles – hard effort (:15)

50 easy (:30)

6 x 25 – VERY HARD! Take lots of rest here – 30 seconds or more, goal here is to push each 25 with max effort. Fast turnover and strong kick.

Cool-down: 200 easy

~ by Greg Vick on March 8, 2012.

2 Responses to “Triathlon Training – Day 35 and 36”

  1. How inspiring. I haven’t exercised forever and need to get back in shape. A few years ago I was going to train for a half marathon not I couldn’t even run a block. I’m hopin to get back to working out soon

    • I’m with ya. I haven’t been keeping up with my blog, but I’ve been going strong. Just this year I have run one 10k, five half marathons and one full marathon.

      I’m focusing hard on my two upcoming triathlons … And Olympic distance and a half iron distance.

      I promise I will catch everyone up on the progress.

      Also I have 5k and 10k training programs on my blog.

      Best if luck and let me know if I can help in anyway.

Leave a Reply

 
