Follow-up on Maffetone Training and No Grains and No Sugars (#NSNG)

Again, I know that it’s been a while since I’ve written, so I want to report on what I’ve been up to.

First, I have been really dialed into my Maffetone Heart Rate Zone.  Since I’m 50, my maximum aerobic heart rate is 130.  My range would be 120 – 130.  This zone is based on the information that is provided in Dr. Phillip Maffetone’s book, “The Big Book of Endurance Training and Racing.”

Anyway, I figured out that I was training with my heart rate 5 beats a minute to high.  So I lowered it from 135 to 130.  I did this starting on Saturday, and I will do this for at least 8 weeks before I do another MAF Test to see what my improvements are.  I should notice something as I continue to train for the next 8 weeks.  But I want to see what the numbers are.  So in 8 weeks, I will post what if any improvements that I have made following the training program.

I also wanted to update you on my change to no sugars and no grains.  I started this the week before I ran the Rock n Roll Pasadena Half Marathon, which was the 10th of February.  In fact, I ran the race sugar and grain free … that’s right, NO CARB LOADING.

Anyway, I wanted to provide you with an update.  I’m now on my 5th week of no sugars and no grains.  And I’m down 22 lbs … No counting calories, no keeping track of food … and best of all, no starving.

I’m actually featured on a podcast.  http://www.vinnietortorich.com/  Go and listen to episode 106.

At any rate, I will post more tomorrow on the no sugars and no grains!  But it’s the way to go …

~ by Greg Vick on March 18, 2013.

One Response to “Follow-up on Maffetone Training and No Grains and No Sugars (#NSNG)”

  1. […] Follow-up on Maffetone Training and No Grains and No Sugars (#NSNG) (gregvick.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
