RnR Portland #NSNG Report

I’ve been following the no sugar and no grains #NSNG lifestyle as described by Vinnie Tortorich in his podcast “America’s Angriest Trainer.”  I started the second week of February, and I found that I needed to play around with the percentages to find my optimum level.  I found that I need 10% of my daily calories from carbohydrates, 22% of my daily calories from protein, and 68% of my daily calories from fat.  For me, this is based on a 2400 calories a day.  I keep this the same whether I train on that day or not.  I also keep this the same on my race days.

Speaking of race days, I ran RnR Portland 1/2 marathon on 19th of May.  I’m fully fat adapted, so this is what I had pre-race as my meal:

Large cup of coffee with 4 tbsp of heavy cream and a veggie egg yolk omelet (3 whole eggs + 2 egg yolks and veggies)

This provided more than enough fuel for the entire 1/2 marathon.  I managed to run the entire race in heart rate Zone 2 and Zone 3 (120-140 bpm).  Granted, some of the hills were steep and I had to walk up them, but this was a good solid race.  I didn’t have my fastest time, aka PR, but I did have my fastest time as a #NSNG athlete.  All I had on the course was water at the hydration stations, and water at the finish line.

My post-race meal was a cobb omelet (3 whole eggs, 2 egg yolks, bacon, tomatoes, avocado, chicken, blue cheese) and a spring mix salad with 1tbps of olive oil.  Again, this was plenty of food.  In fact, I had to force myself to eat since I wasn’t hungry from the race.

After the race, I walked on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday.  I started back into my regular Intermediate Half Marathon Training.  Yesterday I did 15 minute warm-up in Zone 1 and Zone 2 (110-130 bpm), then 60 minutes in Zone 3 (130-140 bpm), and finished with a 15 minute cool-down in Zone 1 and Zone 2 (110-130 bpm).

~ by Greg Vick on May 24, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
