Fat Adapted Food Log – No Sugar No Grains #NSNG

I’ve been working with a few people as to what to eat during a day.  To be honest it varies by taste and by what foods you like.  But you need to keep the carbs under 50 grams a day (10% or less of your daily percentage), and you need to keep your protein at 15-20% and then your fat between 70-75% of your daily intake.  For me, this means that I eat around 2400 calories a day.  I don’t necessarily keep track of calories, since I eat when I’m hungry, but I do like to keep track of the grams and the percentages that I eat per day.

I do use an app to help me out with this, and that app is myfitnesspal.  It’s a really good app, and one that I’ve been able to “adjust” to help me keep within my personal goals.  I can set my carbs to 10%, protein to 15% and then fat to 75%.

So … what do I eat?  Here’s a sample of my daily menu.

Breakfast: 3 whole eggs (pasture raised), + 2 egg yolks (pasture raised), 1 tbsp grass fed butter, and a mix or organic veggies (spinach, onion, green pepper, mushrooms)

Snack: 2 tbsp olive oil or 24 raw almonds

Lunch: 6oz of grass fed beef or roasted wild caught fish, mixed green salad (1/2 avocado and 10 cherry tomatoes) with homemade salad dressing (1tbsp olive oil, 1 tsp balsamic vinegar, 1 tsp Dijon mustard)

Dinner: 6oz of grass fed beef or wild caught fish, grilled or sauteed veggies (creamed kale, grilled squash, sauteed spinach, etc).  I make sure that I have one portion of protein and then two portions of veggies.

Snack: 1/2 cup of heavy cream and 1 cup of frozen berries (blended)

So that’s an example of my daily diet.  It does vary day to day, but overall it’s pretty much the same.  I eat lots of veggies, and I eat some protein.  I make sure that I have plenty of fat throughout my day.  And this is what works for me ..

~ by Greg Vick on May 28, 2013.

2 Responses to “Fat Adapted Food Log – No Sugar No Grains #NSNG”

  1. Thanks! This is really helpful for those of us attempting NSNG, and unsure if we’re “doing it right.” I wouldn’t mind seeing more of these!

    • Lisa, thank you and I’ll write some more this week. I’m in Seattle for the Rock n Roll Half Marathon. So I’ll do a race report, diet update and maybe a couple recipes.

Leave a Reply

 
