No Sugar and No Grain Snacks – #NSNG

Over the past few months, I’ve been helping people with the no sugar no grain, #NSNG, movement.  This is nothing that I have started, but it is a movement that was started by Vinnie Tortorich.  What’s really cool is that he started eating this way because he wants to prevent his cancer from coming back, but in the process he stumbled on a lifestyle that is also healthy, gives you plenty of energy, will help you lose weight, and you’re not hungry.

If you want to know more about Vinnie, I recommend that you listen to his podcast at http://www.vinnietortorich.com.  You should listen from the very beginning, but if you want to find out specifics about the diet, then listen to all of the episode that have Andrea Anders as a guest.  In those podcast Vinnie really goes into detail on the specifics of his diet.

Anyway, one of the questions that have come up lately has been what kind of snack to eat.  I will admit that once in a while I get hungry in between my meals, and sometimes a snack is the perfect thing to hold me over until I get ready to eat my meal.  What’s cool is that I typically eat breakfast around 6am, and won’t eat again until 2 or 3, because I’m not hungry.  But there are times that I want a snack … So what do I have?

Here are some of the snacks that I have:

  1. Raw almonds
  2. Avocado (I pull out the pit, pour some olive oil in it, and sprinkle some sea salt on it)
  3. Full fat Greek yogurt with some berries
  4. Blended frozen berries (1 cup of strawberries) and 1/2 cup of heavy cream
  5. Coffee with 2 or 3 tablespoons of heavy cream
  6. Raw milk cheeses (cow, goat, etc)
  7. A couple tablespoons of almond butter with a stalk of celery
  8. A couple tablespoons of good olive oil (yes, I drink olive oil)

Those are the snacks that I have, but I’m sure there are a lot of others you can have.  In fact, a friend of mine that has recently started eating #NSNG said this is what he has as a snack.  He says that he mixes some Greek yogurt, raw almond butter, blueberries, cinnamon and coconut oil together for a snack.  That is a rocking snack and one that I have to try myself since it has a lot of good fats.

Give it a shot … Go #NSNG.  Try it for two weeks, and see how you feel.  You won’t regret it …

~ by Greg Vick on May 31, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
