Low Carb, Moderate Protein and High Fat #NSNG Training

I wanted to give a quick update on the training and also tell you of some success stories of people who are doing the #NSNG, low carb, moderate protein and high fat lifestyle.  First the success stories.

One person, Jason, is trying to drop a weight class for a Taekwondo tournament.   He started on the #NSNG lifestyle about 2 weeks ago and has dropped 8 pounds.  We did have to tweak his diet a little since he was getting hungry, but we did it with a high fat snack and/or a high fat mid-day coffee.  The other person is Jess.  She was about 12 pounds from reaching her goal weight.  She has already lost a lot of weight, but had those few pounds that she just couldn’t get rid of.  Well, after two weeks she lost that weight and has reached her goal weight.  The third person is Wendy.  What’s interesting is that she has had stomach issues and has had a full colectomy and an ileal-j pouch.  So this diet has not only worked to help her drop a few pounds, but like the other people it’s also helped with digestion issues.  I think that most people would be surprised just how much this lifestyle really helps with digestion and with inflammation.

Anyway … Back onto my training.  I’ve been fat adapted since. I’d say, the end of February or beginning of March.  I’ve been working really hard building my Zone 2, aka Maffetone Base (MAF), so that I could become better fat adapted at my exercise and then hopefully be able to jump into a build phase so that I can be ready to do a race in July.  I do run a lot, but I only race a couple of times a year since I want to spend a lot of time building my aerobic base.

I’ve started my build using the Intermediate Advanced Half Marathon Training Plan.

I started today at week 5.  Why week 5?  Well, I’ve been working on building my aerobic base and the first few weeks are usually dedicated to that.  Plus, starting at week 5 works for me since the race is in July at Bryce Canyon and I have another race in Seattle in June.  Also, my training always starts out with a warm-up and a cool down.  For example, the required exercise for today was 70 min in Z2 and then two 6 minute intervals at Z4 with a 1 min rest in between.  I did that, but I did a 15 minute warm-up in Z1 and Z2. And after the exercise, I did a 15 minute cool down in Z1 and Z2.

Also, my zones are all based on my MAF zone.  My Zone 2 is 120-130 (180-age), Zone 3 is 130-140.  And Zone 4 is 140-150.

As far as the NSNG, low carb diet goes, I was able to do my run this morning fasted using only my existing fat stores.  I needed no nutrition whatsoever for the entire run.  I will however, start bringing water with me since the heat and humidity is getting tough.

More later and if you have any questions, please ask.  And yes … I’m in ketosis!!

~ by Greg Vick on June 3, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
