Rock n Roll Seattle Race Report and #NSNG Update

One of the things that I want to address in this report is not only my race report, but also what I ate up to the race, and what I ate post race to ensure that I was fueled properly for the events.

My breakfast consisted of three possible meals.  One meal is an egg yolk veggie omelet that consists of 3 whole eggs and 2 egg yolks.  Or a green smoothie that consisted of kale, blueberries, full fat Greek yogurt, flax-seed, heavy cream, and water until it reaches the right consistency.  And my final go to breakfast … black coffee with heavy cream and raw cacao powder.

My lunch typically consist of some sort of protein (grass-fed beef, pasture raised chicken, wild caught fish) and lots of veggies. My other go to, if I’m not real hungry is an avocado with a little bit of olive oil and some sea salt.

For dinner, I typically have protein (grass-fed beef, pasture raised chicken, wild caught fish) and lots of veggies.

My go to snack … 1 cup of frozen blueberries or cherries and 1/2 cup of heavy cream.  It makes an awesome ice cream type desert without all of the sugar and other artificial ingredients.

The day before the race, I had 3 whole eggs and 3 egg yolks scrambled with 1 tbsp Kerry Gold butter.  For lunch I had some grilled lamb, grilled chicken and veggies with olive oil.  For dinner I had wild caught salmon, grilled veggies and 1/2 dozen raw oysters.  Then for a snack I had some fresh organic raspberries and some heavy cream.

The morning before the race, I had 3 whole eggs and 3 egg yolks scrambled with 1 tbsp Kerry Gold butter, and coffee with 3 tbsp heavy cream.  During the race, I had water on the course.  Then after the race, I had a hamburger (patty only) with grilled onions and a fried egg with a salad and blue cheese dressing.  Then for dinner, I had a half-dozen raw oysters.  Then that night, I had some raw sheep milk cheese.

So that was what I ate before the race, and on race day.

As far as the race, I have to say that I really love the Pacific Northwest.  It is such a beautiful area.  Granted the weather can be a little on the touch and go, but on those beautiful days it can’t be beat.  And Saturday was that day … It was perfect weather.  The temperature was in the 60’s and it was sunny.  Perfect weather for a run through Seattle.

One of the things about the Seattle race is the stretch along the lake where they have the pictures of all of the service members in the area that have lost their lives during this war (Iraq and Afghanistan).  It’s a very sobering reminder that we have lost a lot of young men and women in this war who were just beginning their lives.  Then after that tribute, there are men and women who are standing holding flags that represent those that have been killed.  And in this group there are men and women who have served in the military that have lost limbs.  I walked through this stretch, and thanked these men and women for their service.  There are times when a time doesn’t matter, and this is one of those times.  So please think about our service men and women and never forget their service.  A lot of lives have been turned upside down because of this war, and these families always need our support.  So if you can, please support The Wounded Warriors Project, or Team Red, White and Blue (Team RWB).  Thank you …

~ by Greg Vick on June 25, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
