UGH!! Day 1 of my come back …

I knew that it was going to be hard.  I’ve only been able to walk for the past three weeks, and it’s been 5 months since I tore the tendon.  But I didn’t know that it was going to be this rough!! UGH!!

It probably also doesn’t help that the temperature is in the lower 90’s and the humidity is pretty high.  I was SOAKED!!  I will say that I did it, and that’s what counts.

Since I know that this is going to be tough, I’m doing a walk/run for the first few weeks.  I’m trying to keep my heart rate low, and I realize that I need to rebuild my base.  I know that I have no base fitness, so I need to start from scratch.

First, I’m a huge believer in a fasted run if it’s nothing to intense and to long.  Since I knew that I was only going to run 2 miles with a walk/run and a warm-up and cool down that consisted of a walk, I know that I don’t need to fuel for that.  I have plenty of fuel to support this effort.

My run consisted of a 15 minute walk.  I gradually increased my pace while walking so that when the 15 minutes were up, I was able to go into a slow jog.  I did not attempt to run fast since I know that I need to work on my base which is my zone 2.  I decided to do the next 2 miles using the Galloway method.  So what I did was jog for 1 minute, then walk for 1 minute.  I ended up doing over 2 miles, since I did the 1/1 for 16 reps.  Once the 16 reps ended, I walked back home for 15 minutes.  My total time was 1:02, and my total distance was 3.82 miles with a 16:15 average pace.  It’s going to be a long road back.

I wasn’t hungry when I got home, so I felt that there was no need to eat.  I eat a “real” food diet which means that I don’t eat anything that comes in a box.  In a nutshell, I eat foods that are minimally processed.  For example, I eat beef, pork, chicken, seafood, eggs, all veggies (I do limit potatoes), all veggies (again, I do limit tropical fruits since they are pretty high in sugar), and full fat dairy.

I had my favorite thing which is breakfast for lunch (or for dinner).  I had a veggie omelet (3 eggs, spinach, onions, mushrooms, tomato, and green pepper) and a pan cooked ham slice.  It hits the spot!!

For dinner, I plan on having roasted chicken (rosemary and lemon), along with a crust-less tomato pie.  I do like a snack at night, and it is usually seasonal fruit or nuts, or both.  And for those times when I want a real treat I will make my own “ice cream” which is just heavy cream and frozen berries blended in my Vitamix.

I’m going to continue to drink plenty of water today, and then get ready for my next day.  I’m sure that I will be able to do the Space Coast Half Marathon, but it’s going to be tough.  But I have this … Determination!!

~ by Greg Vick on August 12, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
