It’s not going to be easy …

I can say this much, it’s not going to be easy.  A 5 month lay off is hard to come back from.  I know that I will get there, but I have to have patience and not push the limits while I continue through the recovery process.  It’s also hard not to get disappointed.  I can’t run 2 miles steady, but I was able to run 30+ miles with no problems before.  It really takes a tole mentally.  Again, I can’t compare what I can do now with what I used to do.  It was the same when I was coming back from my knee surgery.  All of the PRs that I set prior to the knee surgery are not within my reach now.  My body can’t do what it used to do.  I just have to keep that in mind, build back up my fitness and soon I will be back at the higher mileage.

Anyway, on Thursday I warmed up for 15 minutes with a brisk walk. I then did 16 reps with 1 minute run and 1 minute walk.  I did a cool down of a 15 minute walk back to the house.  I felt better than I did the other day.  I just know that it will be a little while.

Today (Friday) I just went for a walk.  Nothing major.  It was just an easy stroll for about 50 minutes.  It was perfect because it was just what I needed since I was frustrated with work and I needed to get some fresh air.  Sometimes a walk is just what you need.

My diet has been mainly meats and veggies.  I’ve had a couple of eggs, some steak, backed cauliflower, roasted broccoli, squash casserole, and tomato pie (without the crust).  I’ve snaked on homemade trail mix.  But I know that I need to knock that one off.  It’s just that it’s a good comfort food and something that is easy to snack on.  But I think that this week will be my last week, and I will stock up on some fruit for next week.

I’m just going to keep trucking along, and do another run/walk session tomorrow, then a walk on Sunday.  I may shift my schedule so that I have Sunday as a rest day.  I like the idea of being able to have a rest day over the weekend so that I can get in more family time.  I’m so ready for the weekend?  How about you?

~ by Greg Vick on August 15, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
