Time to do some catching up …

So far my comeback into running has been ok.  I’m not going to say that it’s great, but I’m also not going to say that it’s good.  I have noticed that once I run, I have been hungry!!  Not just hungry, but really hungry!!  To the point in which I can’t seem to eat enough food.  My go to has been trail mix … Not the best thing to eat, but better than some things.  But this week, I’m going to try something a little different.

I also said that I wanted to switch my rest days to Sunday.  That way I get to spend some more time with the family on Sundays and I’m not always out training.  I think that’s why I like running, although I incorporate other exercises into my routine.  Running gives me that flexibility … for the most part.  With Triathlon training I just didn’t seem to have that much flexibility unless I wanted to use all of my vacation time.

Anyway, my Saturday run consisted of a 15 minute walk, then I did 16 reps with 1 minute run and 1 minute walk.  I did a cool down walk back home.  Not big distance total, but it was 3.79 miles.  Sunday was an off day.  Again, I did that so that I could switch my off day to have my time with my family.  And today I did a 15 minute walk, then I did 24 reps with 1 minute run and 1 minute walk.  I did a cool down walk back home.  My total distance was 4.79 miles.  Not a lot, but a good total considering that I’m planning on doing the Space Coast Half Marathon the last week in November.  So I’m pretty happy … Remember, I just want to finish.  I don’t care about my time and I don’t care if I have to walk.

As far as my diet, I’m really going to buckle down for the next month.  I’m not going to starve myself, but I’m going to really focus on what I eat and really try to only eat those things that are good for me.  I will eat my fruits, veggies and meats.  I will stay away from anything that has added sugar.  I will eat some rice, but only as a treat and when I go eat Sushi!  But that’s later this month.  So for right now … It;s good, whole, clean food.

~ by Greg Vick on August 18, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
