And I keep on training …

It feels so good to get back into the groove of training.  For 5 months I haven’t been able to do anything, and I have been going crazy!!  It’s been fun watching my friends complete races, and see other people complete races.  I’ve been reading books and magazines about running.  I’ve watched the movie “Unbreakable: The Western States 100” at least a 100 times.  I’ve been waiting for the day to arrive that I can begin my training … and train I am.  I’m back into the groove and I keep on training.  So for this post I’m going to talk about my last few training days after my cross training, and I’m also going to talk about the shoes that I am hooked on.  But first, my training …

On Wednesday, I did a run/walk for 2 miles.  I did a 15 minute walk to warm up, then did 16 x 1 x 1 (16 reps, 1 minute run with 1 minute walk), then I did a 15 minute walk to cool down.

Thursday was a rest day.  Oh how good those days feel.  I know that I need to rest instead of pushing myself so that I don’t injure myself.  Sp rest I did.

Friday I did a run/walk for 3 miles.  I warmed up for 15 minutes with a walk, then did 24 x 1 x 1 (24 reps, 1 minute run with 1 minute walk), then I did a 15 minute walk as a cool down.

Saturday was a walk day.  So I walked for 2 miles.  Nothing hard, just a nice solid walk.

Sunday was another rest day.  It’s nice to spend those days with the family so that don’t feel so guilty about my training anymore.  More rest, and hopefully less injuries.

Monday was my first day in which I didn’t do the standard run/walk that I’ve been doing.  I did a 15 minute warm up by walking, then I did a 2 mile easy run.  By easy run, I mean that I kept my heart rate between 130 and 140 beats per minute.  When I’d exceed 140 beats, I’d either slow my pace, or walk until my HR was 134 or so.  Once the two miles were complete, I did a 15 minute walk as a cool down

Now for my favorite subject … Shoes!!  One of the things that runners have is a lot of shoes.  I can look around my office and I see pair after pair of shoes.  All kinds … I have Asics, New Balance, Brooks, Mizuno, Hoka’s … and my new favorite running shoe Altra!  You might be asking me why Altra?  Well, I really like the spacious toe box.  My toes splay out, and I have never felt more comfortable in a shoe.  And since the surgery, these shoes have given me the room that I needed so that I could heal.  It was like walking barefoot, but with shoes on.  My toes weren’t cramped, and they are finally starting to look normal.  Ok … As normal as runner toes can look.  I’ve also been wearing Injinji trail toe socks.  What I like about these is that they keep my toes separated, and it allows for a more natural splay in my shoes.

Am I saying that these are the best for you?  No … I think that everyone needs to find out what works best for them.  But I can tell you that Altra’s are the shoes for me!!

~ by Greg Vick on August 25, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
