Just a walk day … Nutritional Thoughts

Since it is two days before the Charleston Marathon, I took a “day off.”  By that, I mean that I did not run, but I walked.  Tomorrow I will run 3 miles at my marathon pace in preparation for the race on Saturday.  It’s supposed to be cold outside so I will be bundled up pretty well for the run tomorrow and the run on Saturday.  I would rather be warm, than be cold.

Sunday will be interesting in that I will do a 60 mile bike ride after the marathon on Saturday.  I am really looking forward to it, and it will be interesting to see how I feel since I have a couple of triathlons this year, and I will use this as the base to see how I will be feeling since they will be Olympic distance races.

I have to make a few thoughts on nutrition.  I’m seeing a lot of advertisements for weight loss diets.  And one of the common factors in a lot of these are the use of “shakes” in the place of meals … Body by Vi, and Slim-Fast are a couple that I can think of.  Anyway, this is not the way to go.  I’m not a huge fan of these as meal replacements, and I feel that you can get the nutrition you need from a real meal within your caloric intake for that day.  Eat a real meal … don’t do a shake.  For breakfast, I eat an egg white veggie omelet and a slice of whole wheat bread with strawberry jam.  For a snack, I have some fruit or a clif bar.  For lunch I fix a turkey sandwich on whole wheat bread with lots and lots of veggies.  I then have another healthy snack in the afternoon.  For dinner, I can have a piece of fish, some brown rice and veggies.  Then I have another healthy snack at night.  I can keep my caloric intake down to 1600 – 2400 calories depending on what my training plan is, but no where in my diet is there any meal supplement shakes.  Get your nutrition from real food …

 

~ by Greg Vick on January 13, 2011.

Leave a comment